2013/08/18

It’s ~11:30 AM where I am right now. Woke up at 5:30 to stand in line for train tickets, stood from 6:10 to 8:25 AM, the counters having opened at 8 AM. Some people were in line for the night. Wow. Even then, they couldn’t get tickets; all sold out within minutes. And I’m talking of train tickets here, not movie  tickets. Shows that we really love travelling and stuff, and the tickets are for 17th Oct, exactly 2 months from today. That’s the peak season, but it feels kind of weird to think the tickets for the trains get sold out in 10 minutes.

I came back home at 8:45 AM. And heard that Oreimo 14-16 were to be simulcasted soon. Even IRC seemed to be shivering in excitement. Some of my friends were all ready to watch. The simulcast started and ended. I’m sure that was 90 minutes of bliss for all Oreimo fans.

That got me thinking. Fans can get to watch anime minutes after they air in Japan these days. With most of the shows getting simulcasted, that thing which was unbelievable is a reality today. I didn’t know anything about anime in say, 2000. I first came in touch with anime in the form of Pokemon and Digimon back then. That too, dubs. When I got proper unlimited internet 5 years back,  the fact that I could actually watch anime with their original Japanese audio felt so out-of-this-world. But turns out it’s true, thanks to fansubs, I remember following Ryuu-rogue as they released Digimon Adventure episodes. I planned to watch all at once. When I came to know of them, they had subbed about 39 episodes, and I found them on Veoh.com. Then they played a kind of joke by saying it’s dropped. I was disappointed but still thought it’s fine, those are free after all. Then I was the happiest guy on earth when they released the rest in one go. I don’t think I have felt like that many times in my life.

But I’m yet to watch Digimon Adventure, strangely. I’ll get to it someday for sure. I stalled at ep 21 or so, don’t remember.

After that, I did some more research on how exactly this was possible: releasing the stuff in Japanese audio for free. Needless to say, the voice acting and everything in subbed anime was a million times better than Cardcaptors or Digimon I saw as a kid. Then I came to learn of fansubs, fansubbers, their ethics and stuff. And I wanted to contribute too. To share the joy of watching an awesome anime with everyone. So I looked for groups to join in 2011. And I found a very nice group: Doki. Hologfx is my mentor even today.

Fast forward to today. To be continued in Part 2, cos it might be seen as controversial.

Leave a Reply

